Back in action + Junk food Vegan vs. Plant based Vegan

Hello! I’m happy to say that I’m back to posting on this blog 🙂 I’ve changed the name from Kathrine’s Kitchen to Passion for Plants, which is also the name of my foodie Instagram account (link here!). I started that account last summer, upon pausing posts to this blog, as I wasn’t quite sure what I wanted with this page. At the time, a blog was too wide for me: so many possibilities for posts, I didn’t know where to begin! As I began my first year of college last fall I decided to focus on school, continue posting meals and recipes from Instagram, and come back to the blog when I was ready.

So, here I am!

This time, I have an overall idea about what I want for this page: to inform and inspire others to eat more plants. I will be sharing my ideas and opinions on topics that interest me: mainly the plant-based lifestyle, natural living and DIY knowledge I’ve picked up, tips for others who would like to transition to eating more plants, recipes, and so on. Please comment if you have questions or would like to hear about a topic!

Today I want to point out the variety of diets the word ‘vegan’ can define. The term has come to mean a lot lately: everything from potato chips and Oreos to lentils and fresh produce are vegan, but we can see there’s a huge range between these two types of food. Many foods, such as soy-based mock meats, nondairy cheeses, nondairy ice cream, Pop Tarts, and even some boxed cake mixes are technically vegan! Obviously, these aren’t exactly health-optimizing. Sour Patch Kids are a far cry from a fresh salad with beans and veggies.

When I first tell people about my lifestyle, I tell them I’m vegan, but recently I’ve realized that this is not enough to describe the plant-based food I mainly eat.

So what’s the other end of the spectrum? Although there are many ways to healthfully eat a vegan diet, the whole food plant based diet is one that’s quickly gaining popularity, thanks to the eye-opening documentary Forks Over Knives.

“A whole-food, plant-based diet is centered on whole, unrefined, or minimally refined plants. It’s a diet based on fruits, vegetables, tubers, whole grains, and legumes; and it excludes or minimizes meat (including chicken and fish), dairy products, and eggs, as well as highly refined foods like bleached flour, refined sugar, and oil.” From FOK

This means largely avoiding processed foods, as most of these tend to have refined flour, sugar and/or oil. I aim to stick to this way of eating as much as possible, although I often enjoy nuts, seeds, and oils, such as coconut, hemp seed or olive. I still eat some processed snacks, like chips or crackers (preferably without additives or GMOs), but I know I feel better when I eat fresh foods. Another thing that’s made a difference for my diet is making more food at home – meals, snacks – and bringing them with me, to avoid being forced to buy something I wouldn’t normally eat because I didn’t plan ahead.

I have learned that I feel a thousand times better when eating whole, fresh foods (preferably organic and non GMO): fruits, vegetables, beans and lentils, whole grains, nuts and seeds, and when avoiding greasy foods. I think more clearly, have much more energy, and generally feel happier. I thrive living this way. Knowing that I can feel this good all the time by eating plants only motivates me to continue, and gives me such a passion for this lifestyle. I hope I can share my passion with you!


 

Have a happy Wednesday, and be sure to check out my Instagram to see what I’m making 🙂 – Kathrine

 

Leave a Reply

